council elections banner

Table of Contents

  • Overview Local Government Elections and timeline
  • Enrolling to Vote
  • Refreshing the Voters Roll
  • Upcoming Events

In South Australia, council elections are held every four (4) years for all 68 councils except the Municipal Council of Roxby Downs, which operates under its own administration. The most recent periodic council elections were held in November 2014. The next council elections will take place during November 2018 and will be conducted by the Electoral Commission of South Australia (ECSA).

A quick reference timetable has been released by the Local Government Association (LGA) of South Australia (2018 Council Elections Quick Reference Timetable). Key dates are as follows:-


2018 Council Elections Quick Reference Timetable
Roll Close Friday 10 August 2018 (5pm)
Nominations Open Tuesday 4 September 2018
Nominations Close Tuesday 18 September 2018 (12 Noon)
Mail out of Voting Material Monday 22 - Friday 26 October 2018
Close of Voting Friday 9 November 2018 (5pm)
Counting of Votes Saturday 10 November 2018

Further information (i.e. responsibilities, enrolment, voting, eligibility etc.) regarding local government elections can be obtained from the ECSA and the LGA, website links as follows:-


Guidelines - Election Signs

Ballot Paper Draw - Mayor

Ballot Paper Draw - Councillor


Back to top